You’ve Wrung Me Out Too Too Too Many Times…

Cold War Kids – Hang Me Out To Dry

Careless in our summer clothes splashing around
in the muck and the mire
Careless in our summer clothes splashing around
in the muck and the mire

fell asleep with stains
cake deep in the knees
what a pain

now hang me up to dry
you wrung me out
too too too many times
now hang me up to dry
I’m pearly like the whites
the whites of your eyes

all mixed up in the wash
hot water bleeding our colors
all mixed up in the wash
hot water bleeding our colors

now hang me up to dry
you wrung me out
too too too many times
now hang me up to dry
I’m pearly like the white
the whites of your eyes

One of the heap’s favorite songs. So simple… yet it’s able to catch exactly how I’ve been feeling for a while now. I love the laundry metaphor… Like clothes, people can sometimes become nothing but articles which get used and dirty and battered without any consequence since they can be hung “out to dry.”

Of course, the most biting line of the song is “You’ve wrung me out too too too many times,”where it alludes to the act of cleaning and drying the article… hoping that it remains the same. My take on it is about emotions and feelings… they can be “wrung out” repeatedly. But we all know (thanks to our mothers) that clothes slowly begin to fade.

which reminds me… I should proably get to this giant heap that has been taking up half of my floor space here!

smallheap.jpg image by jmooser

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

